Life in a Small Town


 I grew up in a small town in Ohio. It was not so small that you knew everyone, but it was small enough to have only one high school, and I pretty much went to school with the same people for all 12 years.

When I was 30, we moved to the metro Atlanta area. Now this was a change, but a good one for the most. We lived in a nice subdivision where you could get to know your neighbors, often new transplants themselves. My daughter attended a school system which had over 47 schools and got to know kids from all over even various different countries. Over the years the area had developed even more and we had a wide variety of choices for shopping and dining out. Traffic could be bad a times, but we learned to deal with it.

Of course life brings along changes, and a little over four years ago, I met and married a great guy. Well he happens to live in a small town. And boy do I mean small. My daughter is now a senior in the only high school in the entire county. It is actually a great school system. It is rated one of the best in the area. Many of her friends have known each other since kindergarten, but were quick to make  her feel welcome. We live in the country on an actual gravel road across from a pasture full of cows, horses, goats, and even an emu. There are no traffic issues to deal with, and it is very quiet. It is very peaceful to often see six deer wandering in your yard even if they do eat the flowers!

But let me be honest. Do I miss metro Atlanta? Yes, at times. I miss being able to run to Target in five minutes. I miss Starbucks. The nearest one is twenty miles from here. I miss the pool in the subdivision. And I miss having a wide choice of restaurants. I had a job for only a few months working for the local government. I left. Most all of the employees were from here, and one in particular did not like Yankees and was very vocal about it! That should not happen in this day and age people!

I don’t know if we will always live here. No one know what the future holds. I am just happy to have a family with a wonderful daughter who will be attending a great college in the city, (I will be visiting often because there is a Starbucks on campus) and an awesome husband who loves us both. We  like to travel, and when we return home, it is nice to have the peace and solitude a small town can bring.

Basically the saying is true.”Home is Where The Heart Is”

One response to “Life in a Small Town

Leave a Reply

