What comes to mind…


What comes to mind when you hear the word Yoga? Some may picture peace signs, long hair, and bell bottom jeans.Others may picture women sitting on mats pretending to exercise.  I had never really given much thought to Yoga until I went for a yearly check up at the doctor. My blood pressure was higher than normal, and this was a puzzle to both my doctor and myself. I have exercised since I was 15 starting with the practice of Tae Kwon Do, and I continue to  do daily cardio and also weight train. I am a vegetarian also so I was at a loss as to the cause. To make a long story short, it was stress and I looked into a natural way to help. Yoga was the answer. After a month of practice, my blood pressure was back to normal and I had found another element to add to my exercise routine.

I have made some other changes in my life. I quit a job that I disliked, obtained my Personal Training and Yoga certificates, and now teach Yoga. And yes, some may wear a t-shirt with a peace sign to class, and yes we do sit on mats and stretch. But Yoga is so much more. My class consists of a series of postures which stretch and loosen you muscles, strengthen your core, and provide balance and toning. We also concentrate on our beathing. If you forget to breath while in Down Dog or Plank, you will end up on the mat before you know it! And we also have a relaxation segment at the end.

Many gyms offer Yoga classes and most cities have a local studio. Give Yoga a try. Yoga requires no special equipment. Yoga does not take up space, and you can practice Yoga at any age. You will experience greater strength, flexibility, reduced blood pressure, less anxiety and an overall calmness.

Try Yoga! Get Your Zen On!

One response to “What comes to mind…

Leave a Reply

